Food and Drink / Health and Fitness / Lifestyle / Shopping / Wellbeing

Whole Foods… How Good Is It

About two years ago I started eating whole foods. No processed foods, nothing packaged, just buying fresh produce and making meals at home. I have a dairy allergy as well (some varieties more than others), which is probably one of the contributing factors to eating this way.  I eat out a handful of times a month, but the best, tastiest and healthiest food is really coming out of my kitchen, made with love, intended for health.Think melbourne whole foods article

 love living this way. It has given me a clarity and appreciation for my health, and more or less simplified things for me. Staple tools in my kitchen are a juicer, a blender, a coffee grinder (which I use for seeds and spices, not coffee) and a chopping board. I must admit, it can be occasionally bothersome when I’ve had no time to prepare lunch for the work day, however the benefits of this lifestyle  choice far outweigh any cons and so I’m sticking with this one.

whole foods markets 1

Prahran Markets, City of Stonnington

I suppose it helps that I enjoy doing my grocery shopping each week. I find it relaxing and therapeutic . I love taking a stroll to my local markets, choosing the fruit and veg for my week, feeling each item that I pick and being able to judge a good one from a bad one, then deciding which way I shall have it. The fact I have a lot of it raw is probably the best part, but I like combining certain flavours together as well. This has become an enjoyable practice, experimenting and coming up with new menus and recipes and meal plans for my week. Health is not only a way of life for me, but very much a hobby as well, and possibly one of the most beneficial ones too.

whole foods pears

PIcking Fruit at the Local Markets

Food is also an expression for me. I love sharing meals and cooking for the people I love. New recipes are only fun when you have people to share it with (and give it a crit as well!). I have a wonderful event coming up soon in my kitchen. Stay tuned for the update!

Join Think Melbourne on Facebook

8 thoughts on “Whole Foods… How Good Is It

  1. Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have truly loved surfing
    around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I am hoping you write once more very soon!

  2. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but
    your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future. All the best

  3. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

